Man Booker Prize : Australian Richard Flanagan Wins

Posted on Posted in A-Z, Daily Dose, Inspiring people

Man Booker Prize : Australian Richard Flanagan Wins

This is the award many of us wait for, so that we can pick the best book of the year to read. 2014 Man Booker Award goes to Richard Flanagan, 3rd Australian to win this award. His masterpiece of love and war ‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North’ wins the prize this year.

Man Booker Prize 2014, richard flanagan, richard flanagan novels, the Narrow Road to the Deep North
Man Booker Prize – Australian Richard Flanagan Wins It
What is Man Booker Prize?

A literary prize award, awarded every year for the best original novel, written in the English language. This prize is a great significance for book trade.

Who is Richard Flanagan?

Richard Flanagan is one of the finest Australian Novelist of this generation. His novels have received wide appreciation.

His novels : Death of a River Guide, The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Gould’s Book of Fish: A Novel in Twelve Fish, The Unknown Terrorist, Wanting, The Narrow Road to the Deep North.

The Narrow Road to the Deep North :

This novel is inspired from his father’s life, who was a survivor of Japan’s campaign to build the railway which relates to infamous episodes of Japanese history, the construction of the Thailand-Burma Death Railway in World War II.

‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North’ is a love story unfolding over half a century between a doctor and his uncle’s wife.

The Financial Times calls it ‘elegantly wrought, measured and without an ounce of melodrama… nothing short of a masterpiece.’

He took over 12 years to write five drafts that he felt deficient and burned. No wonder why the Booker Prize Jury called it a masterpiece.

Richard Flanagan’s Words :

“This prize money means I can continue to be a writer” You might find it funny to read his line. Flanagan said he would spend the prize amount on life. 18 months ago, Flanagan had considered trying to get work in the mines of northern Australia because he had spent so long on one book and he had a tough time coping up with financial necessities of life.

Don’t you now agree with the line “Nothing ever comes free?”

Shortlisted Nominees For The man Booker Prize :

How to be BothAli Smith

The Lives of Others – Neel Mukherjee

To Rise Again at a Decent Hour – Joshua Ferris

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves – Karen Joy Fowler

The Narrow Road to the Deep North – Richard Flanagan



Do join us for more such updates,

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

4 thoughts on “Man Booker Prize : Australian Richard Flanagan Wins

We would love to hear your point of view